Geoffrey Bawa Awards
for Excellence in Architecture

The Geoffrey Bawa Awards were conceptualised in 2007 to recognise and reward outstanding examples of contemporary Sri Lankan architecture. The Geoffrey Bawa Awards scheme is modelled on the awards scheme of the prestigious Aga Khan Trust for Culture in Geneva, widely acknowledged as having had a significant impact on the architecture of developing countries. Deshamanya Bawa received the Aga Khan’s Special Award for a Lifetime’s Achievement in Architecture in 2001.

The winner of the fifth cycle will be announced at a gala ceremony that celebrates the winners and their work, to be held on Thursday, 23 July 2020, to coincide with Geoffrey Bawa’s 101st birth anniversary.

The winner will be awarded a sum of one million rupees, as in previous years. Glenn D. Lowry will deliver the lecture at the ceremony.
Several trailblazing architects were recipients of the Geoffrey Bawa Award during the past four cycles of its existence.

Thisara Thanapathy was adjudged winner of the Geoffrey Bawa Award 4th Cycle for his design of the Spa at Santani, Kandy.

Pradeep Kodikara was awarded winner of the Geoffrey Bawa Award 3rd Cycle for his design of the Kadju House in Tangalle.

Winner of the Geoffrey Bawa Award 2nd Cycle was Thisara Thanapathy for his creation, the Sarath Abeyratne House in Colombo 5.

Two winners shared the Geoffrey Bawa Award 1st Cycle: Lalyn Collure for his creation, The Boulder Garden Hotel, and Shyamika de Silva for her design of the Nalin Indrasena House.

2016/2017 Cycle
The Geoffrey Bawa Trust Shortlists 11 Projects for the 4th cycle for Geoffrey Bawa Awards for Excellence in Architecture 2017. The judges, having deliberated in January, visited 15 projects, out of which 11 have been shortlisted. Also for the first time, we have two unexpected projects which have been shortlisted. One by a non- architect who is Sri Lankan and the other by a foreign architect. This suggests that Sri Lankan architecture has attained a level of maturity of design, where non-professional Sri Lankans are also able to participate in this prestigious project.

The shortlisted projects are (in order of submission):
  • Samadhi Nature Resort, Narampanawa by Mr. W.C. Jayasinghe (non architect)
  • Citizens Development Business Finance PLC Bank and Corporate Office, Colombo 10 by Archt. Shayan Kumaradas
  • Olu Beach Villa, Ambalangoda by Mr. Michael Daane Bolier (architect from the Netherlands)
  • Auditorium & Accommodation Chinmaya Mission, Ramboda by Archt. Yudish Ganesen
  • Mihila Green Factory, Agalawatte by Archt. Tilak Samarawickrama
  • The Urban Haven- Renovation & Addition to Carlton Pre-School, Colombo 10 by Archt. Ranga Dayasena
  • Sterling Aftercare Center, Galle by Archt. Thusara Waidyasekera
  • Studio Dwelling, Rajagiriya by Archt. Palinda Kannangara
  • Family Retreat, Malabe by Archt. Palinda Kannangara
  • Spa at Santani, Kandy by Archt. Thisara Thanapathy
  • Kaithady District Vocational Training Center, Jaffna by Archt. Chinthaka Wickramage & Nileeka Senerath.

Archt. Mok Wei WeiThe principal architect of W Architects, Singapore. He is professor in Practice of the Department of Architecture, National University of Singapore and is often invited as a jury member for design competitions and awards. In 2012, he was a member of the Grand Jury at the World Architectural festival.

Archt. D. H. WijewardenaThe Senior Vice President of Sri Lanka Institute of Architects. He has also served as a visiting lecturer at University of Moratuwa and University of Sri Jayawardenapura and now he is serving in this capacity at the city School of Architecture, Colombo.

Ms. Sharmini Pereira - The founder and Director of Raking Leaves and the Sri Lanka Archive of Contemporary Art, Architecture and Design. She was the Guest Curator at the Aga Khan Museum, Toronto, in 2014 and for the Abraaj Capital Art Prize in 2010. In 2006 she co-curated the first Singapore Biennale and has written and lectured about South Asian contemporary art for the last 20 years.

Mr. Ward BelingTrustee the Geoffrey Bawa and Lunuganga Trusts. He will chair the Board of Judges in the 2016/2017 cycle.

Follow us on

︎   ︎   ︎
Geoffrey Bawa Trust
Number 11, 33rd Lane, Bagatelle Road,
Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
(+94) 11 2589212
Lunuganga Estate
Dedduwa, Bentota,  Sri Lanka
(+94) 77 7341104
(+94) 71 855 4699
© 2019 Geoffrey Bawa Trust. All rights reserved. You may not reproduce, distribute, display or create derivative works of any of the text, images or other content appearing on this website, nor may you use any of the trademarks, without written permission from the Geoffrey Bawa Trust.